NOTE: You can click the Doctor’s picture to know more about them


Question Asked:

"prednisonole given to my mum for bells palsy treatment has spiked her blood sugar. she has been advised to stop...I need a second opinion...Will the palsy resolve with prednisonole"

Tags:
    User Avatar
    A 32 years year old female asked:
    2 years ago
    prednisonole given to my mum for bells palsy treatment has spiked her blood sugar. she has been advised to stop...I need a second opinion...Will the palsy resolve with prednisonole
    Dr. Gabriel A answered:
    2 years ago
    Hello. Prednisolone which is a steroid is useful for the treatment of Bell's palsy. However prolonged steroid use is associated with raised blood sugar. I will advise she sees a neurologist for adequate advice on any possible alternatives. You can send a mail to findadoctor@kangpe.com and we will be glad to help you
    Doctors avatar
    User Avatar
    A 32 years year old female asked:
    2 years ago
    she has seen one and he was the one who prescribed it and then yanked her off when the blood sugar spiked....just need to know if the palsy will resolve without her completing the prednisonole dosage. just want another opinion
    Dr. Gabriel A answered:
    2 years ago
    Yes. Indeed Bell's palsy has a high recovery rate even without using prednisolone, it may spontaneously resolve.
    Doctors avatar
    User Avatar
    A 32 years year old female asked:
    2 years ago
    but there is a chance it might now, however little...I just want to be sure there will be full recovery without the prednisonole
    Dr. Gabriel A answered:
    2 years ago
    Hello. Though the possibility is high for complete recovery and the use of prednisolone is not synonymous with recovery as it's use is controversial in some settings. I can not say for sure that your mum's will resolve spontaneously. but what I'm saying is use of prednisolone is no guarantee for cure.
    Doctors avatar
    User Avatar
    A 32 years year old female asked:
    2 years ago
    thanks a lot....you have been helpful..have a lovely weekend ahead...............
    Dr. Gabriel A answered:
    2 years ago
    Glad to have been of help. Do spread the word to your friends and family about Kangpe and have a great weekend.
    Doctors avatar

Put your Doctor in your pocket

Stay healthy on the go. Get health advice from over 750 doctors, daily health tips, personal menstrual cycle planner etc, all from the comfort of your mobile phone.

Screenshots of the app